Goa Election Live Result 2017 Date, Opinion Poll, Ward Wise Candidates Winning Name List

Goa Live trends

out of 40 seats

Cong won in 17

BJP won in 13

others 10


The voting for the year 2017 was held in February 4th, 2017. Usually, Goa had only two parties fighting in the election, however, this time there is a new entrant Aam Aadhmi Party that competed in the election 2017.The polling was done in single phase February 4th and the result will be announced on March 11th, 2017. The election in Goa was held peacefully, due to the elaborate arrangements done by the Election Commission. The voting has been recorded as 84% and in only one booth re-polling has been ordered, due to some technical glitches.

Goa Election Result 2017According to the reports, Congress has lost hope due to their corruption and BJP’s rule was considered a disappointment to majority of people. The new entrant AAP has gained popularity among the catholic in the coastal area, however they are also fighting the negativity they gained in the last two years in Delhi. Interestingly the support for AAP is coming from both the Hindu and Christians, in addition to this the support for both BJP and Congress has gone down, since both the governments have wronged in the past few years.

The Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar lacks charisma and did not earn any specific achievements in the last term, meanwhile the AAP Chief ministerial candidate Elvis Gomes, has got lot of support from people all over Goa. The major issues to focus, for the winning government will be, maintaining the cultural identity of Goa, since in the last few years the population has gone up due to migrants and to prohibit drug trade. There are large casinos in Goa, which has been attracting lot of illegal drug trade, which has to stop by the winning party, which will be forming the government from 2017.

Election Result Date: March 11th, 2017

Opinion Poll by Election Survey:

Political Parties Seats Expected
Bharatiya Janata Party 17-21
Indian National Congress 13-17
Aam Aadmi Party 1-3
Others 3-5

It seems that BJP has a brighter chance in winning the election, since majority of people supported the demonetization. On the other hand, Aam Aadmi Party may lose the election due to their work in Delhi, in which people were not impressed.

Opinion Poll by VDP Associates:

Political Parties Seats Expected
Bharatiya Janata Party 22
Indian National Congress 6
Aam Aadmi Party 9
Others 3

Since the predictions of VDP are usually accurate, BJP have a chance of securing 22 seats and forming the government in Goa this time. However, it is a huge loss for Congress which may gain only 6 and AAP which may as well secure only 9 seats.


We can expect that BJP will be winning the elction 2017 in Goa; however there are chances of BJP to form an alliance with another party. Whatever the case maybe BJP will be able to form a government in Goa by securing maximum number of seats. BJP has selected their CM candidate to be Manohar Parrikar.

Related Posts